In Australia

At an Alliance Française in Australia

There are 30 branches of the Alliance Française scattered throughout Australia. They are places where one can learn about France and its language, its arts, its literature, its cuisine, its technology, its tourism, and more.
The six Alliances located within the major Australian capital cities (Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane, Canberra, and Adelaide) are managed by French expatriates seconded from the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development.

There are also 24 regional Alliances administered by committees made up of volunteers. The majority of them are located along the eastern and southern coasts, with the exception of the Darwin branch in the Northern Territory.

The larger Alliances Françaises are involved particularly in the promotion of French culture and liaise with Australian organisers of festivals and producers. They organise the annual Alliance Française French Film Festival, which is becoming more and more successful every year.

In addition, in Australia the DELF and the DALF (official qualifications awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify the competency of candidates from outside France in the French language) can be obtained at the Alliance Française in each of the capital cities, as well as at the Hobart, Albury and Wagga Wagga branches. For information about sessions, prices, and how to enroll, please contact the nearest Alliance Française.

For further information regarding the Alliance Française network in Australia, please visit:

At a French Department within an Australian university

There are 21 university departments offering subjects in French Studies within Australia. The majority teach French from students at a beginner’s level up to advanced. They also have French programs (Bachelor, Honours and Postgraduate programs).

For more information please contact the French departments or schools within the following universities:

Australian National University
Edith Cowan University
Flinders University
Griffith University
James Cook University
La Trobe University
Macquarie University
Monash University
Queensland University of Technology
RMIT University
University of Adelaide
University of Melbourne
University of New England
University of New South Wales
University of Newcastle
University of Queensland
University of Sydney
University of Technology, Sydney
University of Tasmania
University of Western Australia
University of Wollongong

Dernière modification : 22/06/2017

top of the page