Principal Australian research actors [fr]

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation- CSIRO

The CSIRO is the most important agency for Australian federal research.
The CSIRO plays an active role in the implementation of the NISA Agenda via its 2020 strategy.

Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation –ANSTO

ANSTO is the national nuclear organization which is at the heart of the Australian nuclear expertise.

Geoscience Australia

Geoscience Australia is the organization which advises the government on all geoscience questions, but is also the custodian of the nation’s geographical and geological data and knowledge.
Geoscience Australia’s Data Cube offers a new approach to organize and analyze the large quantity of satellite images and earth observation data.


There are 43 universities in Australia and some are grouped in clusters around organizations defending their interests.

- The Group of Eight - Go8:
The Go8 is the key organization defending the interests of 8 Australian research-intensive universities: the University of Melbourne, The Australian National University, the University of Sydney, the University of Queensland, the University of Western Australia, the University of Adelaide, Monash University, and the University of New South Wales.

- The Australian Technology Network -ATN
The Australian Technology Network gathers five universities with a strong emphasis in engineering: the Queensland University of Technology, the University of Technology Sydney, RMIT University, the University of South Australia, and Curtin University.

- Universities Australia
Universities Australia is the organization representing all Australian universities and supports a sustainable national university system which can be defined by its quality, accessibility, innovation and its high level of performance, positioning Australia as a world leader and respected international partner.

Funding Agencies

- The Australian Research Council – ARC: Competitive research funding covering the entire scientific spectrum except medical research.

- The National Health and Medical Research Council – NHMRC: Competitive funding for medical research.

The Industry Growth Centres

The Industry Growth Centres Initiative (the Initiative) is an initiative guided by the industry and focused on domains where Australia has a high degree of competitiveness, or a strong strategic priority.

The Cooperative Research Centres

The program of the Cooperative Research Centres (CRC) is a competitive, merit-based program, which aims to support partnerships of collaborative research led by the industry, as well as gathering industries, researchers and the community. The program of the CRC is managed by AusIndustry, a division of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

The Rural Industries Research and Development Corporations – RIRDC

The Rural Industries Research and Development Corporations statute was established in 1990 by the Australian government allowing them to work with the Australian rural industries in the organization and the funding of their needs in research and development, in particular for the new emerging industries and on rural problems of a national scale.

Dernière modification : 04/03/2020

top of the page