Studying in France: announcement of the first round of Nicolas Baudin program Laureates [fr]

The first round of Laureates for the 2017 Nicolas Baudin program has been selected. Eight Australian undergraduate, postgraduate and PhD students will receive the travel grant from the Embassy, which will provide financial support to their period of studies or research in France. They will also benefit from a grant financed by the Embassy which will cover their social security while in France.

This year, the reviewed program was open to a wider range of applicants than in previous years to include not only those departing for an exchange/ study abroad program or full degree in France, but also those departing for a cotutelle, short program or internship.

The program has experienced unprecedented success this year after receiving 121 applications, which is more than double of those received for the previous year.
The grant recipients were selected on a range of criteria, including most notably the excellence of their academic grades, their continuous links with France and the French language, and how their study or research project fits with their career plans.

The following laureates have been selected:

  • Ms Amy Bergman: University of Queensland, exchange to Sciences Po as part of her Bachelor of Arts (majoring in French)/ Laws degree
  • Ms Eleanor Denson: University of Melbourne, research internship at CNRS LSCE (UVSQ, CEA - Paris-Saclay University) Gif-sur-Yvette studying paleoclimatology as part of her Bachelor of Science
  • Ms Ariel Ivanovici: The Australian National University, PhD research internship at the Institute of Plant Sciences -Paris Saclay University
  • Mr Jackson Frazer: University of Adelaide (previously), full enrolment into a Masters of Hydraulic and Civil Engineering at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de l’Energie, l’Eau et l’Environnement
  • Mr Nathan Kerwood: The Australian National University, exchange to the University of Grenoble Alpes as part of his Bachelor of Arts (majoring in political sciences)/ International Relations degree
  • Ms Jessica O’Rielly: University of Adelaide, internship at DCNS within the framework of her PhD thesis on human factors
  • Ms Grace Sutton: Deakin University, cotutelle in zoology between Deakin University and the University of La Rochelle studying fauna in the Kerguelen Islands
  • Mr Kurt Walkom: University of New South Wales, short program at INSA Lyon for the INNOV@INSA summer school

A potential second round of grants will be announced in the coming weeks. These may be awarded to candidates placed on a waiting list (see below) and to laureates of the new ‘Internship in France Student Mobility Program’, which is a project between the Embassy, the Australian Technology Network of Universities (ATN) and Macquarie University established in 2017.

The following candidates have been placed on the waiting list and will be informed in the coming weeks of the final decision of the jury:

  • Ms Catherine Bock
  • Mr Galen Correy
  • Ms Lauren Fanning
  • Ms Tamar Jamieson
  • Mr Oliver Kerr
  • Ms Natalie Kutcher
  • Ms Talia Melic

The Embassy wishes to thank the Australian Society for French Studies (ASFS) for their contribution to the evaluation of applications relating to the domains of humanities and social sciences.

The Nicolas Baudin Grant is eponymously named after the famous French explorer and botanical voyager who, in 1802, at the same time as Matthew Flinders, charted the coast of New Holland (Australia).

Dernière modification : 07/09/2017

top of the page